Scroll back to the top

Edriss Titi Named 2018 John Guggenheim Foundation Fellow

Edriss S. Titi, Ph.D., professor of mathematics, has been named a 2018 Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Professor Titi is the inaugural holder of the Arthur Owen Professorship of Mathematics in the College of Science. He is also a Professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science and Professor Emeritus at the University of California, Irvine, where he held a joint appointment in the Department of Mathematics and the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. He received a B.Sc. (1979) and a M.Sc. (1981) from the Technion, I.I.T., and a Ph.D. (1986) from Indiana University. He was an L.E. Dickson Instructor at the University of Chicago (1986-1988), and at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, Cornell University, (1988-1989).
Titi is a renowned applied mathematician with broad interests in nonlinear science and scientific computation.  He specializes in the mathematical study of problems from fluid dynamics, nonlinear partial differential equations, and in a dynamical systems approach to turbulence. Titi will use the Guggenheim Fellowship to advance the rigorous mathematical study and justification of the atmospheric dynamics climate models with moisture and to investigate and develop downscaling algorithms for data assimilation of weather and climate predictions.
Titi’s scholarly achievements have earned him many awards and recognitions. He was the Orson Anderson Scholar (1997-1998) and the Stanislaw M. Ulam Scholar (2002-2003), both at the Los Alamos National Laboratory. In 2004 he was elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics, UK. In 2009 he received the Humboldt Research Award also shared the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Prize on Best Paper in Partial Differential Equations. In 2012 he was elected as a fellow of both SIAM and the American Mathematical Society (AMS). He received the Einstein Visiting Fellow award, from the Einstein Stiftung/Foundation, Berlin, (2018-2020). See Guggenheim Fellowships