Scroll back to the top

Helen Reed Receives the 2018 AIAA Fluid Dynamics Award

Helen Reed, Ph.D., Regents Professor and Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, and previous Holder of the Edward "Pete" Aldridge '60 Professorship, has been awarded the 2018 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Fluid Dynamics Award. This award is presented for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the behavior of liquids and gases in motion as related to need in aeronautics and astronautics. Reed receive an engraved medal and certificate of citation during the recognition luncheon at the 2018 AIAA Aviation Forum and Exposition in June in Atlanta, Georgia. The citation reads “For lifetime achievements in the fundamental understanding, modeling and control of boundary-layer laminar-to-turbulent transition for aerospace vehicles from subsonic to hypersonic.”
Reed is widely regarded as an expert in hypersonics, boundary-layer stability and transition, and energy efficient aircraft and small satellite design. She is currently a member of two of the five NASA University Leadership Initiatives (one led by Texas A&M and one by University of Tennessee, Knoxville). She is a principal investigator on a major Air Force Office of Scientific Research program to model the transition process on a next-generation hypersonic flight-test article. She directs the Computational Stability and Transition Lab, as well as the AggieSat Lab satellite program, a design-build-fly student satellite program housed within the department.
Reed is a consultant to the Institute for Defense Analysis, a member of the National Academies Air Force Studies Board Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group, chair of the AIAA Transition Discussion Group, and a member of the NATO AVT ET 136 Technical Team: “Hypersonic Boundary Layer Transition Prediction.” She is also co-founder and chief technology officer for Chandah Space Technologies, a startup company specializing in small satellite systems.
Reed has received numerous professional awards and honors, including being named a Fellow of the AIAA, the American Physical Society and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). She received the Kate Gleason Award from ASME, the Atwood Award from the American Society for Engineering Education and AIAA, and the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award for teaching from the State of Texas. See Fluid Dynamics Award