Scroll back to the top

American Academy of Nursing

American Academy of Nursing Fellows, are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, and research. Fellows include association executives; university presidents, chancellors, and deans; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; nurse consultants; researchers; and entrepreneurs.  Invitation to the fellowship represents more than the recognition of one's accomplishments within the nursing profession.

2014 Nancy Fahrenwald, Ph.D., RN, PHNA-BC, FAAN, Dean and Professor
2017 Matthew Sorenson, Ph.D., APN, ANP-C, FAAN, Assistant Dean of Graduate Nursing Education and Professor
2004 Daniel Sheridan, Ph.D., RN, FNE, SANE-A, FAAN, Professor
2013 Nora Montalvo-Liendo, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Assistant Professor
2017 Stacey Mitchell, DNP, MBA, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, DF-AFN, FAAN, Clinical Associate Professor
2019 Nancy Downing Ph.D., RN, CP-SANE, SANE-A, Associate Professor

Fellowship Application and Submission Documentation

Please see additional information regarding the Distinguished National Academy of Medicine (NAM) Nurse Scholar-in-Residence and the Academy’s Johnson & Johnson Excellence in Media Award which recognizes exemplary journalism that reports on health or health care with accurate and appropriate inclusion of nurses’ contributions or perspectives.