Scroll back to the top

Our Growing National Academies Membership

Darensbourg is the first woman to receive the American Chemical Society (ACS) Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry Award. She is a Fellow of the ACS, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Darensbourg received the 2013 Fred Basolo Medal for Outstanding Research in Inorganic Chemistry, the 2013 John C. Bailar, Jr. Medal & Lectureship, and the 2017 ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry.
Darensbourg is also an outstanding teacher and mentor who has received nearly every teaching and student mentoring award offered at Texas A&M University.

 Ronald A. DeVore, Ph.D., University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, His election to the National Academy of Science honors his world-renowned expertise in approximation theory, numerical analysis, and signal processing. He is distinguished through his many contributions and achievements in a variety of mathematical areas, including applications of Fourier analysis, statistical analysis and approximation theory to problems in signal analysis and remote sensing. He holds the Dr. Walter E. Koss Endowed Professorship in Mathematics. DeVore is an inaugural fellow of the American Mathematical Society as well as a Fellow of the Bulgarian Academy of Science and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His hundreds of colloquia and conference presentations include plenary addresses for the AMS, the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics and the prestigious International Congress of Mathematicians — a coveted honor extended to only the top two if not one percent of mathematicians worldwide.
 Chanan Singh, Ph.D., is Regents Professor and Irma Runyon Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. His election to the National Academy of Engineering honors his contributions to the advancement of theory, practice, and education in electric power system reliability. He is internationally recognized as an expert on the reliability and security of power systems. Singh is a Fellow of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow, winner of the IEEE Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award and in 2010 he was the inaugural recipient of the IEEE-PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award. Other honors include the Merit Award by the Probabilistic Methods Applied to Power Systems (PMAPS) International Society, and the Texas A&M University Association of Former Students' University-level Distinguished Achievement Award for Research. He has previously held the J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship II, the Halliburton Professorship and the Dresser Professorship, and the University of Saskatchewan awarded him a D.Sc. in 1998 for his research contributions. 
Yassin A. Hassan, Ph.D., is the holder of the Royce E. Wisenbaker '39 II Chair of Engineering and is a professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering and the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  The National Academy of Engineering recognizes him for his contributions to experimentally validated thermal-hydraulic analyses of multiphase flow fields for nuclear reactor operations.  Hassan is a registered professional engineer in Texas and a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the American Nuclear Society (ANS). He is also the chair of Nuclear Engineering of ASME and recipient of the George Westinghouse Gold Medal of ASME and Arthur Holly Compton Award of ANS. He has given invited lectures and courses in the United States, Italy, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Belgium, and Mexico. Hassan's research interest is in the areas of computational and experimental fluid mechanics and turbulence, two-phase flow, laser-based flow visualization, and diagnostic imaging techniques, and system modeling.